Wheels and Goals

News, updates, features and opinions on football and motor sport

Moto GP: Marc Marquez wins the Dutch TT 2014

Marc Marquez has made it eight wins from eight races in 2014 after he beat the tricky conditions at Assen.

The 2013 champion managed to get the better of Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso, whose bike performed much better in the wet and cold conditions.

Marquez was not stopped by the rain

Marquez was not stopped by the rain

Dani Pedrosa finished in the final podium position but he was pushed all the way by pole-sitter Aleix Espargaro, with the pair having a race-long battle.

Valentino Rossi finished in fifth place but will be ruing the decision to go with slick tyres at the start of the race. The Italian had to start from the pits after ditching the plan on the parade lap to swap for wet tyres.

Once again we have all been left to wonder what could have been. Had Rossi started on the same tyres as everybody else he could have been able to battle Marquez for the victory.

It wasn’t much better for the other Yamaha rider, Jorge Lorenzo. The 2012 champion ended up finishing down in 13th place and did not look comfortable at all throughout the race.

It is possible that the Spaniard had concerns about crashing and injuring himself… much like he did last year at Assen. Lorenzo definitely does not need another collarbone injury.

Elsewhere there was great results for Andrea Inanone and Alvaro Bautista, as the pair finished in sixth and seventh places respectively.

Yamaha did not have a good day

Yamaha did not have a good day

Britain’s Cal Crutchlow finished down in ninth place, just behind Bradley Smith. Crutchlow will no doubt be bitterly disappointed to see his team-mate finishing in second.

Today’s race now means that Marquez has a 72-point lead in the championship over Rossi and Pedrosa. The 21-year-old could easily win this championship in a record amount of races.

You certainly wouldn’t bet against him winning all of the races this season!!

Dutch TT Results
1. Marquez
2. Dovizioso
3. Pedrosa
4. A.Espargaro
5. Rossi
6. Iannone
7. Bautista
8. Smith
9. Crutchlow
10. Bradl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on June 28, 2014 by in Moto GP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: